Rudrapur Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Rudrapur

BJP is on a strong wicket in the Rudrapur assembly constituency. A triangular contest among BJP, Congress and BSP is on the cards for coming 2017 assembly elections for Rudrapur. In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had secured a massive lead of 50913 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Rudrapur assembly segment.

Rudrapur Electoral History and Background

Rudrapur assembly seat is currently held by legislator BJP’s Raj Kumar Thukral who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest rival and then Congress sitting MLA Tilak Raj Behad by a margin of 3954 votes in a bipolar contest.

In that election to the seat while 37291 votes were received by Raj Kumar Thukral, the Congress candidate got 33337 votes and was followed by BSP’s Premananad Mahajan who received 18681 votes.

Tajindra Singh, who entered the fray on a SP ticket, was relegated to the fourth place with 1785 votes.

Rudrapur is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Gadarpur, Bajpur, Kashipur, Jaspur, Kaladhungi, Haldwani, Nainital, Bhimtal, Lalkuwa, Kichha, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

Rudrapur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Barirai, Mehtosh, Chandayan and Amarpur of Dineshpur KC of Gadarpur Tehsil as well as PCs Rampura, Danpur, Matkota, Kalyanpur of Rudrapur KC, Tanda Forest Range and Rudrapur MB of Kichha Tehsil.

In the 2012 assembly election to Rudrapur, a total electorate of 119500 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 64158 were males and 55342 were females.