Roorkee Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Roorkee

A keen contest between the BJP and Congress is on the cards for the coming 2017 assembly election to Roorkee. In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, the BJP candidate from Hardwar parliamentary seat, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank , had established a lead of 18351 votes over his nearest Congress rival Renuka Rawat in the Roorkee assembly segment. .

Roorkee Electoral History and Background

Roorkee assembly seat is currently held by Congress legislator Pardeep Batra who won the seat in 2012 by defeating the then sitting BJP MLA Suresh Chand Jain by a small margin of 801 votes in a keenly contested bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 23164 votes were received by Pardeep Batra, Suresh Chand Jain got 22363 votes and was followed by BSP candidate Nayyer Azam who received 9772 votes.

Earlier Suresh Chand Jain had won the Roorkee assembly seat in 2002 and 2007 on behalf of the BJP by defeating Manohar Lal Sharma and Furkan Ahmed respectively.

Located in the Hardwar district in Uttrakhand, Roorkee assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Roorkee, Malakpur Latifpur, Bijholi of Roorkee KC, Roorkee Cantonment Board & Roorkee MB of Roorkee Tehsil.

Roorkee is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Pirankaliyar, Jhabrera, Bhagwanpur, Jwalapur, B.H.E.L. Ranipur, Hardwar, Roorkee, Doiwala, Dharampur, Khanpur, Manglaur, Laksar and Hardwar Rural are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Roorkee, a total electorate of 96239 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 52011 were males and 44228 were females.