Rishikesh Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Rishikesh

A keen bipolar contest between BJP and Congress is in the offing for 2017 assembly election to Rishikesh. In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, the BJP candidate from Hardwar parliamentary seat, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank , had established a lead of 36934 votes over his nearest Congress rival Renuka Rawat in the Rishikesh assembly segment. .

Rishikesh Electoral History and Background

Premchand Aggarwal is the sitting MLA of assembly seat which he won second time in a row in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating his nearest Congress rival Rajpal Kharola by a margin of 7271 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Premchand Aggarwal polled 29090 votes, the Congress nominee received 21819 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Deep Sharma who got 17669 votes. The remaining sixteen contestants forfeited their deposits.

In 2007, Premchand Aggarwa had won the seat by defeating the then sitting Congress MLA Shoorbeer Singh Sajwan who had emerged victorious in 2002 by defeating BJP’s Sandeep Gupta.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Dehradun district in Uttrakhand, Rishikesh assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Rishikesh, Chhidderwala, Raiwala of Rishikesh KC, Virbhadra (ITS), Pratitnagar (CT) - Ward No. 1 and Rishikesh Municipality of Rishikesh Tehsil.

Rishikesh is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Doiwala, Dharampur, Hardwar, B.H.E.L Ranipur, Jwalapur, Bhagwanpur, Jhabrera, Pirankaliyar, Roorkee, Khanpur, Manglaur, Laksar and Hardwar Rural are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

A total of 119646 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Rishikesh. Of them, 64184 were males and 55462 were female voters.