Ranikhet Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Ranikhet

Ranikhet assembly seat is poised for bipolar fight between BJP and Congress in the coming 2017 assembly polls. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Ranikhet assembly constituency had given a lead of 2843 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta. .

Ranikhet Electoral History and Background

Ajay Bhatt of BJP won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest Congress rival and sitting MLA Karan Mahara by a razor-thin margin of 78 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 14089 votes were received by Ajay Bhatt, the Congress candidate got 14011 votes and was followed by BSP’s Pooran Singh who received 9346 votes. The remaining four contestants forfeited their deposits.

Ajay Bhatt is currently the state BJP president of Uttrakhand. He was appointed the leader of the Opposition in 2012.

In 2007, Karan Mahara had won the Ranikhet assembly seat by defeating Ajay Bhatt who had emerged victorious from the seat in 2002 by defeating Pooran Singh, then a Congressman.

KC Machor, PCs Bhikiasain, Dob, Bauli, Singoli, Batula, Binaoli, Sanara and Bangora of Bhikiasain KC of Bhikiyasain Tehsil are covered by Ranikhet assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction KCs Tarikhet, Jalali, PCs Ranikhet Sadar, Pantkotuli, Karchuli of Ranikhet KC and Ranikhet (CB) of Ranikhet Tehsil.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Almora district of Uttrakhand, Ranikhet is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Salt, Bageshwar, Kapkote, Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Dwarahat, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Ranikhet, a total electorate of 74031 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 38063 were males and 35968 were females.