Ramnagar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Ramnagar

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 14139 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Ramnagar assembly segment. .

Ramnagar Electoral History and Background

Amrita Rawat is the sitting MLA of Ramnagar assembly seat which she won in 2012 on behalf of by defeating his nearest BJP rival and then sitting MLA Diwan Singh by a margin of 3729 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Amrita Rawat polled 23851 votes, the BJP nominee received 20122 votes and was followed by BSP’s Kishori Lal who got 11406 votes.

In 2007, Diwan Singh had won the seat by defeating Yogember Singh who had emerged victorious from the seat in 2002 by defeating the former.

In 2002 Yogember Singh had vacated the seat to pave the way for N D Tiwari to enter the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand. N D Tiwari was not a member of state assembly at the time of becoming chief minister. He had to become a legislator within six months of being sworn in as CM.

N D Tiwari won in a bye-election in 2002 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BJP rival Ramsingh Bisht.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Nainital district of Uttrakhand, Ramnagar assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Tehsil of the same name.

Ramnagar is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal.

Kotdwar, Lansdowne, Chaubattakhal, Srinagar, Pauri, Yamkeshwar, Narendranagar, Deoprayag, Rudraprayag, Kedarnath, Karnprayag, Tharali and Badrinath are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Ramnagar, the constituency had a total of 90668 registered voters. Of them, 47938 were males and 42730 were female voters.