Rajpur Road Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Rajpur Road

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, Rajpur Road assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 20556 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 20612 votes in this assembly segment. .

Rajpur Road Electoral History and Background

Rajkumar is the sitting MLA of Rajpur Road assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating Ravinder Singh Kataria of BJP by a margin of 3070 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Rajkumar polled 28291 votes, the nominee BJP received 25221 votes and was followed by BSP’s Tanveer Singh who got 5011 votes.

A total of nine contestants were in the fray.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Dehradun district in Uttrakhand, Rajpur Road assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 1-4, 8, 12, 16, 18, 21, 24, 30, 33, 34, 41, 48, 50, 52, 56 and 60 in Dehradun Municipal Corporation of Dehradun Tehsil.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Rajpur Road is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal.

Raipur, Sahaspur, Vikasnagar, Chakrata, Dhanolti, Tehri, Pratapnagar, Ghanshali, Purola, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Rajpur Road, the constituency had a total of 98988 registered voters. Of them, 52286 were males and 46702 were female voters.