Purola Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Purola

In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Purola assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal parliamentary seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 7546 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 13342 votes in this assembly segment. .

Purola Electoral History and Background

Malchand is the sitting MLA of Purola assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating his nearest Independent rival Rajkumar by a margin of 3832 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Malchand polled 18098 votes, Rajkumar received 14266 votes and was followed by the then sitting Congress MLA Rajesh Juwantha who got 10804 votes.

Kishan LAL of BSP was relegated to the fourth place with 1659 votes.

In 2007, Rajesh Juwantha had won the seat by defeating Malchand who was in the fray as an independent. In the previous assembly election in 2002 Malchand was elected on BJP ticket.

One of the three assembly constituencies located in the Uttarkashi district in Uttrakhand, Purola assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Mori Tehsil and Purola Tehsil as well as KCs Naugaon, Barnigad, PCs Gandoli and Gair (Banal) of Rajgarhi KC of Rajgarhi (Barkot) Tehsil.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Purola is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal.

Yamunotri, Gangotri, Ghanshali, Pratapnagar, Tehri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Purola, a total electorate of 58640 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 30378 were males and 28262 were females.