Pratapnagar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Pratapnagar

In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Pratapnagar assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal parliamentary seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 6937 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 10772 votes in this assembly segment. .

Pratapnagar Electoral History and Background

Vikram Singh Negi is the sitting Congress MLA of assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of by defeating his nearest rival and then sitting BJP MLA Vijay Singh by a small margin of 542 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Vikram Singh Negi polled 12135 votes, the BJP nominee received 11593 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Rajeshwar Prasad Painuly who got 7927 votes. The remaining three contestants forfeited their deposits.

In 2007, Vijay Singh had won the seat by defeating Phool Singh Bist who had emerged victorious from the seat in 2002 on Congress ticket by defeating the former who had entered the fray as a BJP nominee at that time.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Tehri Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Pratapnagar is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal.

Ghanshali, Purola, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Tehri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

Pratapnagar Tehsil as well as PCs Bhaldiyana, Kandikhal, Kafal Pani, Pali, Sirain and Padiyar Gaon of Udaypur KC of Tehri Tehsil are covered by Pratapnagar assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction PCs Mandar, Devtadhar and Chandreshwarsain of Dangi KC of Ghansali Tehsil.

A total of 73031 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Pratapnagar. Of them, 37399 were males and 35632 were female voters.