Pithoragarh Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Pithoragarh

A tough bi-polar contest is in the offing for Pithoragarh assembly constituency where BJP can have the last laugh. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Pithoragarh assembly constituency had given a lead of 10033 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

Pithoragarh Electoral History and Background

Presently Pithoragarh is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Mayukh Singh who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest rival and the then sitting BJP MLA Prakash Pant by a handsome margin of 13197 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 33976 votes were received by Mayukh Singh, Prakash Pant got 20779 votes and was distantly followed by BSP’s Ram Datt Joshi who received just 918 votes.

Earlier Prakash Pant had won the seat for the BJP in 2002 and 2007 Mayukh Singh and Ravindra Singh of Congress respectively.

Pithoragarh is one of the four assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Uttrakhand.

Pithoragarh is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Didihat, Dharchula, Gangolihat, Kapkote, Bageshwar, Dwarahat, Salt, Ranikhet, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

KCs Pithoragarh, Gurna, PCs Kotali, Naghar, Badari, Marhsoun, Qwetarh of Munakot KC are covered by assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction PCs Jibi, Nainisaini, Satgal of Satshilling KC and Pithoragarh NP of Pithoragarh Tehsil.

In the 2012 assembly election to Pithoragarh, the constituency had a total of 87580 registered voters. Of them, 43688 were males and 43892 were female voters.