Narendranagar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Narendranagar

Though the BJP has never won the Narendranagar assembly seat since the inception of the state of Uttrakhand, in 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 18846 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Narendranagar assembly segment.

Narendranagar Electoral History and Background

Narendranagar assembly seat is currently held by Congress legislator Subodh Uniyal who won the seat in 2012 by defeating Om Gopal Rawat of BJP by a small margin of 401 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 21220 votes were received by, Om Gopal Rawat got 20819 votes. The remaining five contestants forfeited their deposits.

In 2007, Om Gopal Rawat, then an Uttrakhand Kranti Dal (UKDP), had won the seat by defeating Subodh Uniyal who had emerged victorious from the seat in 2002 by defeating Lakhi Ram of BJP.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Tehri Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Narendranagar assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Narendranagar Tehsil as well as PCs Kurn, Bachelikhal, Baunth, Bharpur and Dansara of Deoprayag KC of Deoprayag Tehsil.

Narendranagar is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal.

Deoprayag, Rudraprayag, Kedarnath, Karnprayag, Tharali, Badrinath, Yamkeshwar, Pauri, Srinagar, Chaubattakhal, Lansdowne, Kotdwar and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Narendranagar, the constituency had a total of 75506 registered voters. Of them, 39796 were males and 35710 were female voters.