Nanak Matta Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Nanak Matta

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nanak Matta- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a lead of 18522 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Nanak Matta assembly segment.

Nanak Matta Electoral History and Background

Nanak matta assembly seat is currently held by BJP legislator Prem Singh who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest Congress rival Gopal Singh Rana by a margin of 5631 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 26652 votes were received by Prem Singh, the Congress candidate got 21021 votes and was followed by candidate BSP’s Bhim Singh who received 9521 votes. Ansuiya Rana, who entered the fray on a SP ticket, was relegated to the fourth place with 4213 votes.

Nanak Matta is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nanak Matta- Udhamsingh Nagar. Sitarganj, Kichha, Rudrapur, Gadarpur, Bajpur, Kashipur, Jaspur, Kaladhungi, Haldwani, Nanak Matta, Bhimtal, Lalkuwa and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

One of the two assembly seats reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes in Uttrakhand, Nanak matta assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by KC Nanak Matta, PCs Bijati, Mainajhundi of Sitarganj KC, Barakoli Forest Range & Raikhal Forest Range of Sitarganj Tehsil as well as PCs Umarukhurd, Gurkhera, Jhankat, Paheniya, Naugwa Thaggu, Mundali and Phulliya of Khatima KC of Khatima Tehsil. Chakrata is the other seat reserved for ST candidates.

In the 2012 assembly election to Nanak Matta, which came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, the constituency had a total of 90386 registered voters. Of them, 46920 were males and 43466 were female voters.