Nainital Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Nainital

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a lead of 8598 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Nainital assembly segment.

Nainital Electoral History and Background

Sarita Arya is the sitting MLA of Nainital assembly seat which she won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating her nearest BJP rival Hem Chandra Arya by a margin of 6308 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Sarita Arya polled 25563 votes, the BJP nominee received 19255 votes and was followed by BSP’s Sanjay Kumar alias Sanju who got 4460 votes. Barring the victor and the runner-up, the remaining four contestants forfeited their deposits.

Earlier Kharak Singh Bohara had won the Nainital assembly seat in 2007 on behalf of the BJP by defeating the then UKKD sititng MLA Narayan Singh Jantiwal who was elected in 2002.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Nainital is formed by Betalghat Tehsil and Koshiyan Kutoli Tehsil as well as PCs Bhawali, West Chhakhata of Bhimtal KC, PCs Khurpatal, Mangoli, Bagar, Syat, Tallakota, Saurh, Amgarhi of Bagar KC, Forest Area, Nainital MB, Nainital CB & Bhowali MB of Nainital Tehsil.

Nainital assembly constituency was an open seat before 2012 assembly elections.

Nainital is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Bhimtal, Lalkuwa, Haldwani, Kaladhungi, Jaspur, Kashipur, Bajpur, Gadarpur, Rudrapur, Kichha, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Nainital, the constituency had a total of 94360 registered voters. Of them, 50297 were males and 44063 were female voters.