Mussoorie Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Mussoorie

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, Mussoorie assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 18859 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 23035 votes in this assembly segment.

Mussoorie Electoral History and Background

Mussoorie assembly seat is currently held by BJP legislator Ganesh Joshi who won the seat in 2012 by defeating the then sitting Congress MLA Jot Singh Gunsola by a margin of 9776 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 28097 votes were received by Ganesh Joshi, Jot Singh Gunsola got 18321 votes. The remaining thirteen contestants forfeited their deposits. Earlier, Jot Singh Gunsola had won the seat in 2002 and 2007 by defeating BJP nominee Narayan Singh and Sahdev Singh Pundir respectively.

PCs Karanpur Khas, Kaulagarh, Jakhan, Garhi, Rikhauli, Johri, Kayarkuli Bhatta of Dehrakhas KC, PCs Chamasari, Silla, Sarona, Chalang of Raipur KC, Mussoorie Nagarpalika Parisad are covered by Mussoorie assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction Ward Nos. 4-7 in Dehradun (CB), Ward Nos. 5, 19, 22, 27, 32, 38, 39 and 57 in Dehradun Municipal Corporation and Landhaur Cantonment Board of Dehradun Tehsil.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Dehradun district in Uttrakhand, Mussoorie is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal.

Dehradun Cantt., Rajpur Road, Raipur, Sahaspur, Vikasnagar, Chakrata, Dhanolti, Tehri, Pratapnagar, Ghanshali, Purola, Yamunotri and Gangotri are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Mussoorie, a total electorate of 102702 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 55071 were males and 47631 were females.