Manglore Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Manglore

BJP is not a dominant force in Manglore assembly constituency. Though the BJP candidate from the Hardwar Lok Sabha constituency, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, had won the parliamentary seat in 2014, he had trailed behind the Congress nominee Renuka Rawat in the Manglaur assembly segment by 2609 votes.

Manglore Electoral History and Background

Sarwat Kareem Ansari is the sitting MLA of Manglore assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of BSP by defeating his Congress nearest rival Qazi Md. Nizamuddin by a margin of 698 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Sarwat Kareem Ansari polled 24706 votes, Qazi Md. Nizamuddin received 24008 votes and was followed by RLD’s Gaurav Chaudhary 19354 who got 19354 votes. Kaleem of BJP was relegated to the fourth place with 2061 votes.

In 2002 and 2007, Qazi Md. Nizamuddin had won the seat on behalf of BSP. BJP has never won the seat.

Located in the Hardwar district in Uttrakhand, Roorkee assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Libbarheri, Manglaur, Bhagwanpur Chandanpur, Banhera Tanda, Mundlana, Harjoli Jatt, Kagwali, Harchandpur, Mohammadpur Jatt, Kherajatt, Kalyanpur alias Narsan Kalan, Nagala Salaru, Tikola Kalan, Nakibpur alias Ghosipura of Manglaur KC and Manglaur MB of Roorkee Tehsil.

Manglaur is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Khanpur, Roorkee, Pirankaliyar, Jhabrera, Bhagwanpur, Jwalapur, B.H.E.L. Ranipur, Hardwar, Rishikesh, Doiwala, Dharampur, Laksar and Hardwar Rural are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

A total of 91769 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Manglaur. Of them, 50404 were males and 41365 were female voters.