Lohaghat Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Lohaghat

A tough bi-polar contest between BJP and Congress is in the offing for Lohaghat assembly constiency where BJP seems to have an edge. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Lohaghat assembly constituency had given a lead of 9032 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

Lohaghat Electoral History and Background

Lohaghat assembly seat is currently held by BJP legislator Sri Puran Singh who won the seat in 2012 by defeating Sri Mahendra Singh Mahra of Congress by a margin of 11535 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 30429 votes were received by Sri Puran Singh, the Congress candidate got 18894 votes and was followed by BSP candidate Govind Pandey who received 2187 votes.

Earlier Mahendra Singh Mahra was elected from the Lohaghat assembly constituency in 2002 and 2007. Krishan Chandra Punetha was his immediate rival on both occasions.

One of the two assembly constituencies located in the Champawat district of Uttrakhand, Lohaghat assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Pati Tehsil as well as Lohaghat Tehsil and Barakot Sub Tehsil.

Lohaghat is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Jageshwar, Someshwar, Ranikhet, Salt, Bageshwar, Kapkote, Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Dwarahat, Almora and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Lohaghat, a total electorate of 93567 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 49276 were males and 44291 were females.