Lansdowne Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Lansdowne

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 8612 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Lansdowne assembly segment. .

Lansdowne Electoral History and Background

Presently Lansdowne is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by BJP’s Daleep Singh Rawat who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest Uttarakhand Raksha Morcha (UtRM) rival Tejpal Singh Rawat by a margin of 5438 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 15324 votes were received by Daleep Singh Rawat, the UtRM candidate got 9886 votes and was followed by Congress’s Jyoti Rautela who received 8849 votes.

Earlier Harak Singh Rawat of Congress had won the Lansdowne assembly seat in 2002 and 2007. On both occasions, Bharat Singh Rawat of BJP was his nearest rival. Harak Singh Rawat, a former minister, had revolted against Chief Minister Harish Rawat who won the trust votes after the intervention of the Supreme Court. He is currently the sitting Congress MLA of Rudraprayag.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Lansdowne assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Dhumakot Tehsil as well as KC Rikhnikhal, PCs Kaudiya, Talla Badalpur of Lansdowne KC and Lansdowne Cantt. Board of Lansdowne Tehsil.

Lansdowne is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal.

Chaubattakhal, Srinagar, Pauri, Yamkeshwar, Narendranagar, Deoprayag, Rudraprayag, Kedarnath, Karnprayag, Tharali, Badrinath, Kotdwar and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Lansdowne, a total electorate of 76445 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 39436 were males and 37009 were females.