Lalkuwa Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Lalkuwa

A keen fight between BJP and Congress looms large in the coming 2017 assembly election to Lalkuwa. In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a lead of 30221 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Lalkuwa assembly segment. .

Lalkuwa Electoral History and Background

Presently Lalkuwa is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Harish Chandra Durgapal who won the seat as an independent in 2012 by defeating his nearest BJP rival Nawin Chandra Dumka by a margin of 8848 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 25189 votes were received by Harish Chandra Durgapal, the BJP candidate got 16341 votes and was followed by Congress’s Harendra Singh who received 13863 votes. Devki Nandan Suyal, who entered the fray on behalf of the BSP, was relegated to the fourth place with 3719 votes.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Nainital district of Uttrakhand, Lalkuwa assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Lalkuwa Tehsil as well as KC Kathgodam and PC Arjunpur of Lalkua KC of Haldwani Tehsil.

Lalkuwa is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Bhimtal, Nainital, Haldwani, Kaladhungi, Jaspur, Kashipur, Bajpur, Gadarpur, Rudrapur, Kichha, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

A total of 90260 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Lalkuwa. Of them, 48317 were males and 41943 were female voters.