Kotdwar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Kotdwar

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 23112 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Kotdwar assembly segment.

Kotdwar Electoral History and Background

Kotdwar assembly seat is currently held by Congress legislator Surendra Singh Negi who won the seat in 2012 by defeating Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri of BJP by a margin of 4623 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 31797 votes were received by Surendra Singh Negi, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri got 27174 votes and was followed by BSP candidate Raje Singh who received 1486 votes.

Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, a former BJP Chief Minister, had won the Garhwal Lok Sabha seat for the BJP in 2014.

In 2007, the seat went in favour of BJP whose nominee Shailendra Singh Rawat emerged victorious by defeating Surendra Singh Negi who had won the seat in 2002 on behalf of the Congress.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Kotdwar assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Sukhron, Saneh, Haldukhata, Motadhak of Dogadda KC and Kotdwara MB of Kotdwar Tehsil.

Kotdwar is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal.

Lansdowne, Chaubattakhal, Srinagar, Pauri, Yamkeshwar, Narendranagar, Deoprayag, Rudraprayag, Kedarnath, Karnprayag, Tharali, Badrinath and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Kotdwar, the constituency had a total of registered 87222 voters. Of them, 44544 were males and 42678 were female voters.