kichha Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of kichha

A keen fight between BJP and Congress looms large in the coming 2017 assembly election to Kichha. In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a lead of 14714 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Kichha assembly segment.

kichha Electoral History and Background

Rajesh Shukla is the sitting MLA of Kichha assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating his nearest Congress rival Sarwar Yar Khan by a margin of 8226 votes in a bipolar contest. In the maiden election to the seat, while Rajesh Shukla polled 33388 votes, the Congress nominee received 25162 votes and was followed by BSP’s Rajesh Pratap Singh who got 8072 votes.

Kichha is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Rudrapur, Gadarpur, Bajpur, Kashipur, Jaspur, Kaladhungi, Haldwani, Nainital, Bhimtal, Lalkuwa, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and kichha are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

Located in the Udham Singh Nagar district in the Kumaon region of Uttarakhand, Kichha assembly constituency, which came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is constituted by the areas covered by PCs Najimabad, Bhanga, Sirolikala, Kichha, Indrapur, Jawharnagar, Nagla of Kichha KC, Dauli Forest Range, PCs Chhinki, Darau, Kurauya, Chukti, Bhamorla, Kanakpur, Simla Pistaur, Dewariya, Phoolbagh of Rudrapur KC and Kichha MB of Kichha Tehsil.

In the 2012 assembly election to Kichha, the constituency had a total of registered 95287 voters. Of them, 51650 were males and 43637 were female voters.