Khatima Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Khatima

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a lead of 14239 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Khatima assembly segment.

Khatima Electoral History and Background

Pushkar Singh Dhami is the sitting MLA of Khatima assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating his nearest Congress rival Davendra Chand by a margin of 5394 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Pushkar Singh Dhami polled votes, the Congress nominee received 15192 votes and was followed by independent candidiate Ramesh Singh Rana who got 13845 votes. G.C.Pandey of BSP was relegated to the fourth place with 9475 votes.

Gopal Singh had won the Khatima assembly seat in 2002 and 2007 on behalf of the Congress.

Khatima is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Nanak Matta, Sitarganj, Kichha, Rudrapur, Gadarpur, Bajpur, Kashipur, Jaspur, Kaladhungi, Haldwani, Nainital, Bhimtal and Lalkuwa are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

Before 2012 assembly elections, Khatima assembly constituency was reserved seat for scheduled tribes.

Khatima assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Sarpura, Jarasu Partapur, Bari Anjaniya, Sisiya, Majhola, Nagla Tarai, Jadopur, Haldi, Sunpahar of Khatima KC, A-M.B. Khatima, Jhankaiya Forest Range, Mahof Forest Range, KC Bigra Bag, Dogari Forest Range, Khatima Forest Range, Kilpura Forest Range and Lohiya Head Forest Range of Khatima Tehsil.

A total of 91104 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Khatima. Of them, 47067 were males and 44037 were female voters.