Khanpur Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Khanpur Rural

In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, the BJP candidate from Hardwar parliamentary seat, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank , had established a lead of 14484 votes over his nearest Congress rival Renuka Rawat in the Khanpur assembly segment.

Khanpur Electoral History and Background

Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion is the sitting MLA of assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BSP rival Kulveer Singh by a margin of 2831 votes in a four-cornered contest. In that election to the seat, while Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion polled 23072 votes, the BSP nominee received 20241 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ravinder Singh who got 19596 votes. Independent candidate Riyasat was relegated to the fourth place with 18730 votes.

Earlier Kuwar Pranav Singh Champion was elected from the Laksar assembly seat in 2002 and 2007.

Located in the Hardwar district in Uttrakhand, Khanpur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Rajpur Mustafabad alias Gadharona, Landhaura, Shikarpur, Dandera, Jorasi, Toda Kalyanpur of Roorkee KC, Dandera CT, Mohanpur Mohammadpur CT, Landaura NAC of Roorkee Tehsil and KC Khanpur of Laksar Tehsil.

Khanpur is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Roorkee, Pirankaliyar, Jhabrera, Bhagwanpur, Jwalapur, B.H.E.L. Ranipur, Hardwar, Rishikesh, Doiwala, Dharampur, Manglaur, Laksar and Hardwar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Khanpur, the constituency had a total of 111521 registered voters. Of them, 60811 were males and 50710 were female voters.