karnprayag Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of karnprayag

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 11562 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Karnprayag assembly segment.

karnprayag Electoral History and Background

Ansuya Prasad Maikhuri is the sitting MLA of assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest Independent rival Surendra Singh Negi by a margin of votes 227 in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Ansuya Prasad Maikhuri polled 11147 votes, the Surendra Singh Negi received 10920 votes and was followed by BJP’s Harish Pujari who got 8343 votes. The then BJP MLA Anil Nautiyal, who entered the fray as an independent after being denied ticket by the party, was relegated to the fourth place with 6631 votes.

Earlier Anil Nautiyal had won the Karnprayag assembly seat on BJP ticket in 2002 and 2007.

One of the three assembly constituencies located in the Chamoli district in Uttrakhand, Karnprayag assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Gairsain Tehsil and Karnprayag Tehsil.

Karnprayag is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal. Tharali, Badrinath, Kedarnath, Rudraprayag, Deoprayag, Narendranagar, Yamkeshwar, Pauri, Srinagar, Chaubattakhal, Lansdowne, Kotdwar and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

A total of 83807 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Karnprayag. Of them, 43058 were males and 40749 were female voters.