kapkote Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of kapkote

A tough bi-polar contest is in the offing for Kapkote assembly constituency where BJP can have the last laugh. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Kapkote assembly constituency had given a lead of 6661 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

kapkote Electoral History and Background

Lalit Farswan is the sitting MLA of Kapkote assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BJP rival Balwant Singh by a margin of 1369 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Lalit Farswan polled 22335 votes, the BJP nominee received 20966 votes and was distantly followed by BSP’s Karam Singh Danu who got 1934 votes.

Earlier Bhagat Singh Koshyari of BJP had won the Kapkote assembly seat in 2002 and 2009. He had won the Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat in 2014 on behalf of the BJP.

One of the two assembly constituencies located in the Bageshwar district of Uttrakhand, Kapkote assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Aare, Khunauli, Chaura, Ghinghartola, Tuperh and Vilkhet of Bageshwar KC of Bageshwar Tehsil as well as Kapkote Tehsil and Kanda Tehsil.

Kapkote is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Bageshwar, Dwarahat, Salt, Ranikhet, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

A total of 85489 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Kapkote. Of them, 42849 were males and 42640 were female voters.