Kaladhungi Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Kaladhungi Rural

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had secured a lead of 42473 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Kaladhungi assembly segment

Kaladhungi Electoral History and Background

Kaladhungi assembly seat is currently held by Congress legislator Banshidhar Bhagat who won the seat in 2012 by defeating BJP Prakash Joshi of by a margin of 2370 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 22744 votes were received by Banshidhar Bhagat, the BJP candidate got 20374 votes and was followed by independent candidate Mahesh Sharma who received 11809 votes.

Diwan Singh, who entered the fray on a BSP ticket, was relegated to the fourth place with 9636 votes.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Nainital district of Uttrakhand, Kaladhungi came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission.

Kaladhungi Tehsil as well as PC Choupara of Bagar KC of Nainital Tehsil are covered by the Kaladhungi assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction PCs Haldwani Khas, Lamachaur, Fatehpur, Bhagwanpur, Kamluwaganja, Lohariyashal, Dewalchaur, KusumKhera of Haldwani KC, PCs Chandnichauk, Anandpur of Lalkua KC, Mukhani (Roopnagar, Basant Vihar Colony and Judges Farm) (OG) - Ward No. 32, Manpur Uttar (Palika Yatayat Nagar) (OG) - Ward No. 33, Haripur Sukha (Van Cancer Hospital) (OG) - Ward No. 34, Haldwani Talli (OG) - Ward No. 35, Gojajally Uttar (Shishu Bhartiya Vidya Mandir) (OG) - Ward No. 36, Kusum Khera (OG) - Ward No. 37, Bithoria No.1 (OG) - Ward No. 38 in Haldwani-cum-Kathgodam (MB+OG) & Forest Area of Haldwani Tehsil.

Kaladhungi is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Haldwani, Nainital, Bhimtal, Lalkuwa, Jaspur, Kashipur, Bajpur, Gadarpur, Rudrapur, Kichha, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Kaladhungi, a total electorate of 113325 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 59142 were males and 54183 were females.