Jageshwar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Jageshwar

Congress seems to have an edge in the Jageshwar assembly constituency. Though the BJP candidate from the Almora Lok Sabha constituency, Ajay Tamta, had won the parliamentary seat in 2014, he had trailed behind the Congress nominee Pradeep Tamta in the Jageshwar assembly segment by 988 votes.

Jageshwar Electoral History and Background

Presently Jageshwar is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Congress’s Govind Singh Kunjwal who won the seat third time in a row in 2012 by defeating his nearest BJP rival Bachi Singh by a margin of 3865 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 18175 votes were received by Govind Singh Kunjwal, the BJP candidate got 14310 votes and was followed by Uttrakhand Kranti Dal’s Subhash Pandey who received 9270 votes.

Tara Datt, who entered the fray on behalf of the BSP, was relegated to the fourth place with 2830 votes.

Govind Singh Kunjwal had also won the seat in 2002 and 2007.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Almora district of Uttrakhand, Jageshwar assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Jainthi Tehsil as well as Bhanoli Tehsil and KC Lamgarha & PC Toli of Panuwanaula KC of Almora Tehsil.

Jageshwar is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Someshwar, Ranikhet, Salt, Bageshwar, Kapkote, Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Dwarahat, Almora, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

A total of 81998 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Jageshwar. Of them, 42889 were males and 39109 were female voters.