Hardwar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Hardwar

A bastion of BJP, Hardwar assembly seat has been favouring the BJP since the first election in Uttrakhand state. In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, the BJP candidate from Hardwar parliamentary seat, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank , had established a lead of 35598 votes over his nearest Congress rival Renuka Rawat in the Hardwar assembly segment.

Hardwar Electoral History and Background

Presently Hardwar is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Madan Kaushik who won the seat third time for BJP in 2012 by defeating Satpal Brahamchari of Congress by a margin of 8620 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 42297 votes were received by Madan Kaushik, Satpal Brahamchari got 33677 votes and was distantly followed by BSP’s Gulshan Arora who received 3225 votes.

Earlier Madan Kaushik had won the seat in 2002 and 2007.

Located in the district of the same name in Uttrakhand, Hardwar assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 1 - 20 in Hardwar (MB) of 2-Hardwar Tehsil.

Hardwar is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Rishikesh, Doiwala, Dharampur, B.H.E.L Ranipur, Jwalapur, Bhagwanpur, Jhabrera, Pirankaliyar, Roorkee, Khanpur, Manglaur, Laksar and Hardwar Rural are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Hardwar, a total electorate of 121669 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 67985 were males and 53684 were females.