Hardwar Rural Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Hardwar Rural

The forthcoming 2017 assembly election to Hardwar Rural is set for a keen contest among BJP, Congress and BSP. In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, the BJP candidate from Hardwar parliamentary seat, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank , had established a lead of 3222 votes over his nearest Congress rival Renuka Rawat in the Hardwar Rural assembly segment.

Hardwar Rural Electoral History and Background

Hardwar Rural assembly seat is currently held by BJP legislator Yatishvaranand who won the seat in 2012 by defeating Irshad Ali of Congress by a margin of 3875 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 25159 votes were received by Yatishvaranand, the Congress candidate got 21284 votes and was followed by BSP candidate Sheshraj Singh who received 19158 votes. The remaining fifteen contestants forfeited their deposits.

Located in the Hardwar district in Uttrakhand, Hardwar Rural assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by KC Pherupur Ramkhera of Hardwar Tehsil.

Hardwar Rural is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Laksar, Manglaur, Khanpur, Roorkee, Pirankaliyar, Jhabrera, Bhagwanpur, Jwalapur, B.H.E.L. Ranipur, Hardwar, Rishikesh, Doiwala and Dharampur are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Hardwar Rural, the constituency had a total of 96902 registered voters. Of them, 52784 were males and 44118 were female voters.