Haldwani Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Haldwani

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a lead of 5039 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Haldwani assembly segment.

Haldwani Electoral History and Background

Indira Hridyesh is the sitting MLA of assembly seat which she won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating her nearest BJP rival Renu Adhikari by a margin of 23583 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Indira Hridyesh polled 42627 votes, the BJP nominee received 19044 votes and was followed by Samajwadi Party’s Abdul Matin Siddiqi who got 13453 votes. Raisul Hasan who entered the fray on behalf of the BSP, was relegated to the fourth place with 3043 votes.

Earlier Banshi Dhar Bhagat had won the seat in 2007 by defeating Indira Hridyesh who was also emerged victorious in 2002 by defeating the former.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Nainital district of Uttrakhand, Haldwani assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 1-25, Dhamua Dhoga Bandobasti (OG) - Ward No. 26, Korta (Chanmari Mohalla.) (OG) - Ward No. 27, Byura (OG) - Ward No. 28, Bamori Malli (OG) - Ward No. 29, Bamori Talli Bandobasti, Amrawati Colony, Shakti Vihar, Bhatt Colony (OG) -Ward No. 30 and Bamori Talli Kham (OG) - Ward No. 31 in Haldwanicum- Kathgodam (MB+OG) of Haldwani Tehsil.

Haldwani is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Nainital, Bhimtal, Lalkuwa, Kaladhungi, Jaspur, Kashipur, Bajpur, Gadarpur, Rudrapur, Kichha, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

A total of 114739 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Haldwani. Of them, 61348 were males and 53391 were female voters.