Ghanshali Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Ghanshali

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, Ghanshali assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 12879 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 9126 votes in this assembly segment.

Ghanshali Electoral History and Background

Bheem Lal Arya is the sitting MLA of Ghanshali assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating his nearest Congress rival Dhani Lal Shah by a margin of 13694 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Bheem Lal Arya polled a total of 24254 votes, the Congress nominee received 10560 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Shoorveer Lal who got 2439 votes. Achla Khandewal of BSP was relegated to the fourth place with 1452 votes.

Bheem Lal Arya had voted in favour of Harish Rawat who won the trust vote in 2016 after the intervention of the Supreme Court. He was later disqualified by the Speaker.

Earlier Balbeer Singh Negi had won the Ghanshali assembly seat in 2002 and 2007 on behalf of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Congress respectively.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Ghanshali is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal. Purola, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Pratapnagar, Tehri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Tehri Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Ghanshali assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by KC Chamiyala, PCs Paukhal, Thela, Pilkhi, Holta, Dhangi, Muyalgaon, Maigadhar, Dhaunikhal, Akhori, Pakh, Kathur-Hindaw, Chanji, Pangriyana of Dangi KC and Bhilangna Range P-3 of Ghanshali Tehsil.

A total of 77119 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Ghanshali. Of them, 38551 were males and 38568 were female voters.