Gangotri Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Gangotri

In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Gangotri assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal parliamentary seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 12483 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 12864 votes in this assembly segment.

Gangotri Electoral History and Background

Presently Gangotri is represented in the legislative assembly of Punjab by Congress’s Vijaipal Singh Sajwan who won the seat in 2012 by defeating the then sitting BJP MLA Gopal Singh Rawat of by a margin of 7023 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 20246 votes were received by Vijaipal Singh Sajwan, Gopal Singh Rawat got 13223 votes. The remaining eight contestants forfeited their deposits.

In 2007, Gopal Singh Rawat had won the seat by defeating Vijaipal Singh Sajwan who had emerged victorious from the seat in 2002 by defeating his nearest CPI rival Kamala Ram Nautiyal.

One of the three assembly constituencies located in the Uttarkashi district in Uttrakhand, Gangotri assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Bhatwari Tehsil as well as PCs Barethi, Matli, Nakuri (Barsali), Beerpur (Dunda) of Dunda KC and KC Bhatwari (Dhanari) of Dunda Tehsil.

Gangotri is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal.

Yamunotri, Purola, Ghanshali, Pratapnagar, Tehri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Gangotri, a total electorate of 71433 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 37099 were males and 34334 were females.