Gangolihat Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Gangolihat

A keen contest among the Congress and BJP is on the cards for the coming 2017 assembly election to Gangolihat. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Gangolihat assembly constituency had given a lead of 3442 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

Gangolihat Electoral History and Background

Gangolihat assembly seat is currently held by Congress legislator Narayanram Arya who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest BJP rival Geeta Thakur Gowal by a margin of 7880 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 24648 votes were received by Narayanram Arya, the BJP candidate got 16768 votes and was distantly followed by BSP candidate Narayan Ram Sanguri who received 3120 votes.

Narayanram Arya had also won the Gangolihat assembly seat in 2002 by defeating BJP’s Joga Ram Tamta who however defeated the former in the next assembly election in 2007.

One of the four assembly constituencies located in the Pithoragarh district of Uttrakhand, Gangolihat assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Gangolihat Tehsil as well as KC Thal and Berinag of Berinag Tehsil.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Gangoliha t is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Kapkote, Bageshwar, Dwarahat, Salt, Ranikhet, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Gangolihat, a total electorate of 88073 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 45402 were males and 42671 were females.