Gadarpur Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Gadarpur

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had secured a lead of 20625 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Gadarpur assembly segment.

Gadarpur Electoral History and Background

Presently Gadarpur is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by BJP’s Arvind Pande who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest independent rival Jarnail Singh by a margin of 5133 votes in a four-cornered contest. In that election to the seat while 27976 votes were received by Arvind Pande, Jarnail Singh got 22843 votes and was followed BSP’s Tarak Bachhar who received 14396 votes. Manishi Chandra Tiwari, who entered the fray on behalf of the Congress, was relegated to the fourth place with 10042 votes.

Gadarpur assembly constituency, which came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is constituted by the areas covered by PCs Kelakheda, Charkarpur, Barwala, Ganeshpur, Badripur of Bajpur-I KC, PC Mudiyakala of Bajpur-II KC and Kelakhera of Bajpur Tehsil as well as KC Gadarpur, PCs Dhanpur Vijaypur, Kulha,Vijaynagar of Dineshpur KC, Pipal Parao Forest Range, Dineshpur TAC and Gadarpur MB of Gadarpur Tehsil.

Gadarpur is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Bajpur, Kashipur, Jaspur, Kaladhungi, Haldwani, Nainital, Bhimtal, Lalkuwa, Rudrapur, Kichha, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

A total of 103062 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Gadarpur. Of them, 54437 were males and 48625 were female voters.