Doiwala Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Doiwala

In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, the BJP candidate from Hardwar parliamentary seat, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank , had established a lead of 22068 votes over his nearest Congress rival Renuka Rawat in the Doiwala assembly segment. However, after few months the BJP lost the bye-election to the seat in 2014.

Doiwala Electoral History and Background

Heera Singh Bisht of BJP is the sitting MLA of Doiwala which he wrested from the BJP in a 2014 bye-election necessitated due to the election of then sitting BJP legislator Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank to the Lok Sabha. In the bye-election Heera Singh Bisht emerged victorious by defeating Trivendra Singh Rawat of BJP by a margin of 6512 votes.

Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, former BJP Chief Minister, had won the seat in 2012 by defeating Congress’s Heera Singh Bisht by 1272 votes. In that election while 23448 votes were polled by Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Heera Singh Bisht received 22176 votes.

Earlier Trivendra Singh Rawat had won the Doiwala assembly seat on behalf of the BJP in 2002 and 2007.

PCs Badripur, Doodhli, Nakraunda, Badasi Grant, Markham Grant I, Markham Grant II and Nathuvawala of Raipur KC of Dehradun Tehsil are covered by Doiwala assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction PCs Majri Grant, Bhogpur, Gadool, Sungaon, Barkot Maufi, Ramnagar Danda, Ranipokhri Grant, Bhaniawala, Jolly Grant of Rishikesh KC, Sindhwal Gaon, Doiwala Nagarpanchayat, Ramgarh Range and Thano Forest Range of Rishikesh Tehsil.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Dehradun district in Uttrakhand, Doiwala is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Dharampur, Rishikesh,Hardwar, B.H.E.L Ranipur, Jwalapur, Bhagwanpur, Jhabrera, Pirankaliyar, Roorkee, Khanpur, Manglaur, Laksar and Hardwar Rural are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency. Prior to the delimitation in 2008, Doiwala formed part of Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Doiwala, the constituency had a total of 107015 registered voters. Of them, 56310 were males and 50705 were female voters.