Didihat Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Didihat

A tough bi-polar contest is in the offing for Didihat assembly constituency where BJP can have the last laugh. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Didihat assembly constituency had given a lead of 7257 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

Didihat Electoral History and Background

Bishan Singh Chuphal is the sitting MLA of Didihat assembly seat which he won third time for BJP in 2012 by defeating his nearest Congress rival Rewati Joshi by a margin of 10617 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Bishan Singh Chuphal polled 21089 votes, the Congress nominee received 10472 votes and was followed by BSP’s Jagjiwan Kanyal who got 10183 votes.

Earlier Bishan Singh Chuphal had also won the Didihat assembly seat in 2002 and 2007.

One of the four assembly constituencies located in the Pithoragarh district in the Kumaon region of Uttrakhand, Didihat is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Didihat, Pithoragarh, Gangolihat, Kapkote, Bageshwar, Dwarahat, Salt, Ranikhet, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

KCs Didihat, Kanalichhina, Muwani and Askot of Didihat Tehsil are covered by assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction PCs Totanoula, Bisabazerh, Kharkdauli, Marhmanley, Banda of Satshilling KC, PCs Munakot, Gaurihat, Mazrikanda, Dauli of Munakot KC, Forest area and Didihat NP of Pithoragarh Tehsil.

In the 2012 assembly election to Didihat, a total electorate of 75458 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 37003 were males and 38455 were females.