Dharchula Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Dharchula

Though the BJP candidate from the Almora Lok Sabha constituency, Ajay Tamta, had won the parliamentary seat in 2014, he had trailed behind the Congress nominee Pradeep Tamta in the Dharchula assembly segment. .

Dharchula Electoral History and Background

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat is the sitting MLA of Dharchula assembly seat which he won in a bye-election in 2014 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BJP rival B D Joshi. Harish Rawat who was an MP at the time of becoming chief minister, had to become a member of the state assembly as a member within six months of being sworn in as CM.

Dharchula seat was vacated by Harish Dhami, who had won it in 2012 by defeating Khushal Singh of BJP by a margin of 5306 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 15739 votes were received by Harish Dhami, the BJP candidate got 10433 votes. The sitting MLA Gagan Singh was relegated to the fifth place with 2990 votes.

Earlier Gagan Singh had won the Dharchula assembly seat in 2002 and 2007 as an Independent.

One of the four assembly constituencies located in the Pithoragarh district of Uttrakhand, Dharchula assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Munsiyari Tehsil and Dharchula Tehsil.

Dharchula is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Didihat, Pithoragarh, Gangolihat, Kapkote, Bageshwar, Dwarahat, Salt, Ranikhet, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

A total of 72755 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Dharchula. Of them, 36306 were males and 36449 were female voters. Before 2012, Dharchula assembly constituency was reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes.