Dharampur Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Dharampur

In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, the BJP candidate from Hardwar parliamentary seat, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank , had established a lead of 17857 votes over his nearest Congress rival Renuka Rawat in the Dharampur assembly segment.

Dharampur Electoral History and Background

Dinesh Agarwal is the sitting MLA of assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BJP rival Prakash Suman Dhyani by a margin of 9420 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Dinesh Agarwal polled 37884 votes, the BJP nominee received 28464 votes and was followed by Mayawati-led BSP’s Saleem Ahmed who got 3805 votes.

Barring the victor and the runner-up, the remaining 16 contestants forfeited their deposits.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Dehradun district in Uttrakhand, Dharampur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Sewla Kalan, Majra, Bharunwala Grant, Dehrakhas, Ajabpur Kalan, Kanwali of Dehrakhas KC, Claiment Town Cantonment of Raipur KC, Ward Nos. 6, 7, 9, 10, 23, 28, 42, 43, 45 and 53 in Dehradun Municipal Corporation of Dehradun Tehsil.

Dharampur, which came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Doiwala, Rishikesh, Hardwar, B.H.E.L Ranipur, Jwalapur, Bhagwanpur, Jhabrera, Pirankaliyar, Roorkee, Khanpur, Manglaur, Laksar and Hardwar Rural are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

A total of 120998 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Dharampur. Of them, 65962 were males and 55036 were female voters.