Dhanolti Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Dhanolti

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, Dhanolti assembly segment had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 9569 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 11992 votes in this assembly segment.

Dhanolti Electoral History and Background

Dhanolti assembly seat is currently held by BJP legislator Mahaveer Singh who won the seat in 2012 by defeating Manmohan Singh of Congress by a margin of 1148 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 12081 votes were received by Mahaveer Singh, the Congress candidate got 10933 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Jot Singh Bisht who received 10261 votes. All the remaining seven ten contestants forfeited their deposits. In 2007, Khajan Dass of BJP had won the seat by defeating Congress nominee Kaul Dass who had emerged victorious from the seat in 2002 by defeating the former.

Dhanolti is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal. Tehri, Pratapnagar, Ghanshali, Purola, Yamunotri, Gangotri, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Sahaspur, Raipur, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Cantt.and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

Before 2012, Dhanolti was a reserved seat for the scheduled castes.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Tehri Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Dhanolti assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Dhanolti Tehsil as well as PCs Katkhet, Bayargaon, Laluri, Maindkhal, Kandarkhal, Lawani, Chham, Bangiyal, Kailar, Kamand, Thauldhar of Udaipur-KC and Tehri Range of Tehri Tehsil.

In the 2012 assembly election to Dhanolti, the constituency had a total of 67079 registered voters. Of them, 34723 were males and 32356 were female voters.