Deoprayag Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Deoprayag

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 15640 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Deoprayag assembly segment.

Deoprayag Electoral History and Background

Presently Deoprayag is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by Mantri Prasad Naithani who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest BJP rival and sitting MLA Diwakar Bhatt by a margin of 1541 votes in a tri-cornered contest. In that election to the seat while 12294 votes were received by Mantri Prasad Naithani, who entered the fray as an Independent, Diwakar Bhatt got 10753 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Mahipal Singh who received 6706 votes.

Shoorveer Singh Sajwan and Jai Krishan, who entered the fray on behalf of the Congress and BSP, was relegated to the fourth and fifth places with 6358 and 1001 votes respectively.

In 2007, Diwakar Bhatt had emerged victorious on BJP ticket by defeating Mantri Prasad Naithani who was elected as a nominee of the Congress in 2002.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Tehri Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Deoprayag assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by KCs Kirtinagar, Chandrabadni, Deoprayag NA, PCs Lalathpatoun, Lalurikhal, Birakot, Hindolakhal, Aamni, Mahar and Bhatkot of Deoprayag KC of Deoprayag Tehsil as well as PCs Paurikhal, Gaumukh, Raurdhar and Jagdhar of Jakhnidhar KC of Jakhnidhar Tehsil.

Deoprayag is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal. Rudraprayag, Kedarnath, Karnprayag, Tharali, Badrinath, Narendranagar,Yamkeshwar, Pauri, Srinagar, Chaubattakhal, Lansdowne, Kotdwar and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Deoprayag, a total electorate of 71105 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 35743 were males and 35362 were females.