Dehradun Cantt Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Dehradun Cantt

A stronghold of the BJP, Dehradun Cantt assembly segment, In 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, had given the BJP candidate from Tehri Garhwal parliamentary seat, Mala Rajya laxmi Shah, a lead of 26505 votes over her nearest Congress rival Saket Bahuguna who received 20214 votes in this assembly segment.

Dehradun Cantt Electoral History and Background

Presently Dehradun Cantt is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by BJP’s Harbans Kapoor who won the seat third time in a row in 2012 by defeating Devendra Singh Sethi of Congress by a margin of 5095 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 29719 votes were received by Harbans Kapoor, the Congress candidate got 24624 votes. The remaining twelve contestants forfeited their deposits.

Earlier Dehradun Cantt assembly constituency went in favour of Harbans Kapoor in 2002 and 2007. Harbans Kapoor, a former Speaker of the Uttrakhand legislative assembly, had been elected seventh time in a row.

Ward Nos. 1, 2, 3 of Dehradun (CB), FRI and College Area, Ward Nos. 11, 14, 17, 25, 31, 37, 40, 47, 49, 51, 54, 55, 58 and 59 in Dehradun Municipal Corporation of Dehradun Tehsil are covered by Dehradun Cantt assembly constituency.

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Dehradun district in Uttrakhand, Dehradun Cantt. is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Tehri Garhwal.

Rajpur Road, Raipur, Sahaspur, Vikasnagar, Chakrata, Dhanolti, Tehri, Pratapnagar, Ghanshali, Purola, Yamunotri, Gangotri and Mussoorie are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Tehri Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

A total of 102402 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Dehradun Cantt.. Of them, 54307 were males and 48095 were female voters.