Chaubattakhal Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Chaubattakhal

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, had established a lead of 7673 votes over his nearest Congress rival Harak Singh Rawat in the Chaubattakhal assembly segment.

Chaubattakhal Electoral History and Background

Teerath Singh Rawat is the sitting MLA of assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of BJP by defeating his nearest Congress rival Rajpal Singh Bisht by a margin of 1964 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Teerath Singh polled 14741 votes, the Congress nominee received 12777 votes and was followed by independent candidate and then sitting MLA from Pauri, Yashpal Benam, who got 6253 votes.

Rajesh Kandari, who entered the fray as a nominee of Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), was relegated to the fourth place with 4725 votes.

Barring the winner and the runner-up, the remaining seven contestants forfeited their deposits.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Garhwal district in Uttrakhand, Chaubattakhal assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Chaubattakhal Tehsil as well as Satpuli Tehsil and KC Birokhal of Thalisain Tehsil.

Chaubattakhal, which came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Garhwal. Srinagar, Pauri, Yamkeshwar, Narendranagar, Deoprayag, Rudraprayag, Kedarnath, Karnprayag, Tharali, Badrinath, Lansdowne, Kotdwar and Ramnagar are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Garhwal parliamentary constituency.

A total of 86551 electors were eligible to vote in the 2012 assembly election to Chaubattakhal. Of them, 42953 were males and 43598 were female voters.