Champawat Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Champawat

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, Champawat assembly segment had given the Congress candidate from Tehri Garhwal Lok Sabha seat, Saket Bahuguna, a lead of 3614 votes over his nearest BJP rival Mala Rajya laxmi Shah who received 19548 votes in this assembly segment.

Champawat Electoral History and Background

A tough bi-polar contest is in the offing for Champawat assembly constituency where BJP can have the last laugh. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Champawat assembly constituency had given a lead of 13643 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

Hemesh Kharkwal is the sitting MLA of Champawat assembly seat which he won in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BSP rival Madan Singh by a margin of 6953 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat, while Hemesh Kharkwal polled 20330 votes, the BSP nominee received 13377 votes and was followed by BJP’s Haripriya Joshi alias Hema Joshi who got 8610 votes. The remaining nine contestants forfeited their deposits.

In the previous assembly election in 2007, the seat went in favour of BJP’s Veena Maharana who defeated the sitting Congress MLA Hemesh Kharkwal who was elected in 2002. In 2002 Hemesh Kharkwal had defeated his immediate independent rival Madan Singh Mahrana.

One of the two assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Uttrakhand, Champawat assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Champawat Tehsil and Sri Purnagiri Tehsil.

Champawat is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Lohaghat, Jageshwar, Someshwar, Ranikhet, Salt, Bageshwar, Kapkote, Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Dwarahat and Almora are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Champawat, the constituency had a total of 76311 registered voters. Of them, 40275 were males and 36036 were female voters.