Bhimtal Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Bhimtal

In 2014 parliamentary general elections, the BJP candidate from Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, had established a lead of 15794 votes over his nearest Congress rival K.C.Singh Baba in the Bhimtal assembly segment.

Bhimtal Electoral History and Background

Bhimtal assembly seat is currently lying vacant due to the resignation of its BJP legislator Dan Singh Bhandari who won the seat in 2012 by defeating his nearest BSP rival Mohan Pal by a margin of 6443 votes in a triangular contest. In that election to the seat while 21494 votes were received by Dan Singh Bhandari, the BSP candidate got 15051 votes and was followed by Congress’s Ram Singh Kera who received 14452 votes. The remaining nine contestants forfeited their deposits.

Dan Singh Bhandari had resigned from the seat in 2016.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Nainital district of Uttrakhand, Bhimtal assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Dhari Tehsil as well as KC Ramgarh, PCs Chanfi, East Chhakhata, Pandegaon, Rausil, Pinraon of Bhimtal KC and Bhimtal NP of Nainital Tehsil.

Bhimtal is one of the fourteen assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar. Lalkuwa, Nainital, Haldwani, Kaladhungi, Jaspur, Kashipur, Bajpur, Gadarpur, Rudrapur, Kichha, Sitarganj, Nanak Matta and Khatima are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Bhimtal, which came into being before 2012 on the recommendations of the Delimitaion Commision, a total electorate of 86901 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 47007 were males and 39894 were females.