Bhagwanpur Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Bhagwanpur

Of late Congress has become a dominant force in Bhagwanpur assembly constituency. Though the BJP candidate from the Hardwar Lok Sabha constituency, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, had won the parliamentary seat in 2014, he had trailed behind the Congress nominee Renuka Rawat in the Bhagwanpura assembly segment by 4270 votes. Added to this, in the 2015 bye-election the Congress had won the seat by an impressive margin of 36000 votes.

Bhagwanpur Electoral History and Background

Mamta Rakesh is the sitting MLA of Bhagwanpur assembly seat which she won on behalf of Congress in a 2015 bye-election necessitated due to death of her husband Surendra Rakesh who had won the seat in 2012 as a nominee of the Mayawati led (Bahujan Samaj Party) BSP by defeating his nearest Congress rival Satyapal Singh by a margin of 6781 votes in a tri-cornered contest.

In the 2015 by-election, Mamta Rakesh received a total number of 59205 votes whereas her immediate nearest rival and BJP candidate Rajpal Singh managed to secure 22296 votes. BSP did not contest the by-election.

Surendra Rakesh, who had also won the seat in 2007, was a minister in the Congress-led government. In 2007 he had defeated the then sitting BJP MLA Chandrasekhar who was elected in 2002.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Bhagwanpur is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Hardwar. Jwalapur, B.H.E.L. Ranipur, Hardwar, Rishikesh, Doiwala, Dharampur, Jhabrera, Pirankaliyar, Roorkee, Khanpur, Manglaur, Laksar and Hardwar Rural are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

Located in the Hardwar district in Uttrakhand, Bhagwanpur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by PCs Sikroda-II, Habibpur Niwada, Manak Majra, Jalalpur Dada, Hasanpur Madanpur, Chhaparsher Afganpur, Latifpur Khubbanpur, Bhagwanpur, Hallumajra of Bhagwanpur KC, Forest Area, PCs Karondi, Sikandarpur Bhaswal, Sirchandi, Khelpur Nasrulapur, Ruhalki Dayalpur, Kunja Bhadarpur, Chudiyala Mohanpur, Bhalsawagaj, Bindukharak, Bahedeki Saidabad and Manakpur Aadampur of Iqbalpur KC of Roorkee Tehsil.

In the 2012 assembly election to Bhagwanpur, a total electorate of 98545 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 53954 were males and 44591 were females.