Bageshwar Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Bageshwar

A keen bi-polar contest is in the offing for Bageshwar assembly constituency where BJP can have the last laugh. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Bageshwar assembly constituency had given a lead of 11493 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

Bageshwar Electoral History and Background

Currently, Bageshwar is represented in the legislative assembly of Uttrakhand by BJP’s Chandan Ram Dass who won the seat second time in a row in 2012 by defeating Ram Prasad Tamta of Congress by a margin of 1911 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat while 23396 votes were received by Chandan Ram Dass, the Congress candidate got 21485 votes and was followed by BSP’s Bahadur Ram Dhauni who received 9877 votes.

In 2007 Chandan Ram Dass had won the seat by defeating Ram Prasad Tamta, then a sitting Congress MLA, who had won the seat in 2002 by defeating Narayan Ram Das of the BJP.

One of the two assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Uttrakhand, Bageshwar assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Garur Tehsil as well as KC Kafaligair, PCs Talla Katayur, Rawaikhal, Dug Bageshwar of Bageshwar KC and Bageshwar Municipality Board of Bageshwar Tehsil.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Bageshwar is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Almora. Kapkote, Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Dwarahat, Salt, Ranikhet, Someshwar, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Bageshwar, a total electorate of 99035 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 50170 were males and 48865 were females.