Almora Assembly Election 2017

Current Trends of Almora

The upcoming 2017 assembly election to Almora is all set for keen contest between the BJP and Congress. In the 2014 Lok Sabha general elections, Almora assembly constituency had given a lead of 8076 votes to BJP’s Ajay Tamta.

Almora Electoral History and Background

Manoj Tiwari is the sitting MLA of Almora assembly seat which he won second time in a row in 2012 on behalf of Congress by defeating his nearest BJP rival Raghunath Singh Chauhan by a margin of 1181 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election to the seat, while Manoj Tiwari polled 16211 votes, the BJP nominee received 15030 votes and was followed BSP’s Shekhar Lakhchaura by who got 6781 votes.

In 2007, Manoj Tiwari had defeated the then sitting BJP MLA Kailash Sharma who had won the seat in 2002 by defeating the former.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Uttrakhand, Almora assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by KC Almora, PCs Linguta, Trinaili, Nyoli, Palyoun of Panuwanaula KC, PCs Hawalbagh, Pakhura, Sainj, Doba, Khunt, Dhamas, Jyoli of Hawalbagh KC, Almora MB & Almora CB of Almora Tehsil.

Almora is one of the fourteen assembly segments falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. Someshwar, Ranikhet, Salt, Bageshwar, Kapkote, Gangolihat, Didihat, Dharchula, Pithoragarh, Dwarahat, Almora, Jageshwar, Lohagat and Champawat are the other thirteen assembly constituencies within Almora parliamentary constituency.

In the 2012 assembly election to Almora, a total electorate of 78503 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the assembly segment. Out of the total electors, 40768 were males and 37735 were females.