Vilathikulam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Vilathikulam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and INC.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate Jeyasingh Thiyagaraj Natterjee a good lead of around 124002 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Vanur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly elections of 2011 the AIADMK won the constituency defeating the INC party with a huge majority after getting 72753 votes. AIADMK won the constituency in the previous assembly elections also. The DMK party has won this constituency four times from the assembly elections of 1967.The ADK party has won this constituency three times and the ADMK party one time.

This constituency of Vilathikulam is situated in Thoothukudi district. Fishing is the occupation of the majority of people. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily those engaged in fishing related activities voters will decide the verdict.