Uthiramerur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Uthiramerur is a assembly constituency in Kanchipuram district. The headquarters of the taluk is the town of Uthiramerur. In 2011 assembly election P. Ganesan of AIADMK emerged victorious polling 86912 votes. The runner up was Ponkumar of DMK who got 73146 votes.

Uthiramerur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Gangadharan.Pon PMK 24221
Rajendran.M DMDK 9184
Susairaj.R Naam Tamilar Katchi 928
Purushothaman.V BJP 786
Jayaraman.S IND 768
Jayaprakash.C IND 762
Suresh.D BSP 636
Vanasundari.M IND 236
Madhavaraj.K.V IND 195
Prakash.K LJP 168
Devarasan.C IND 156
Amutha.N SP 125
Muthukumar.R IND 91

Uthiramerur is noted for its temple inscriptions that describe a self-governance system that existed around 7th to 9th century CE.

According to the 2011 census, the taluk of Uthiramerur had a population of 145,376 with 72,828 males and 72,548 females. There were 996 women for every 1000 men. The taluk had a literacy rate of 67.75.