Usilampatti Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Usilampatti legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP and JMM.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Usilampatti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Neethipathi P AIADMK Won
Ilamakezhan.K DMK 73443
Baskara Sethupathy.A MDMK 7079
Kathiravan P.V AIFB 5136
Sangli.M BJP 2860
None of the Above None of the Above 1672
Iyndhu Kovilan.G Naam Tamilar Katchi 1437
Mahendran M BSP 939
Murugan.T PMK 619
Nethaji C IND 457
Jeyakumar S TMMK 255
Nagamani N IND 254
Rajuthevar M IND 243
Thangam A IND 199
Ranjitham P LJP 96
Senthil Murugan S IND 88

Electoral History and Background

Usilampatti is a state assembly constituency that is in existence since 1957 election. In 2011, P.V. Kathiravan of All India Forward Bloc won this seat.

Usilampatti is a taluk of Madurai district. The headquarters of the taluk is the town of Usilampatti. According to the 2011 census, Usilampatti had a population of 195,236 with 99,804 males and 95,432 females. There were 956 women for every 1000 men. It has a literacy rate of 67.65.