Udumalpet Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Udumalaipettai legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and KNMK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate V. Sathyabama a good lead of around 179315 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Udumalpet Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Radhakrishnan K AIADMK Won
Muthu K DMK 76130
Kandhasamy N BJP 7339
Ganeshkumar S DMDK 7090
Ragupathi Raghavan C KMDK 3562
None of the Above None of the Above 3306
Duraisamy P PMK 1975
Velusamy P BSP 822
Prabhu D IND 445
Amshaveni R IND 431

Electoral History and Background

Pollachi Jayaraman. V of AIADMK party won this constituency in the assembly elections of 2011. Many parties were left behind; the party close on the trail was KNMK.

The constituency of Udumalaipettai is a town in Tiruppur district. The primary occupation of the town is trade and commerce activities. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily industry workers, mill labourers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.