Udhagamandalam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Udhagamandalam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and INC.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate C. Gopalakrishnan a good lead of around 124002 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

Udhagamandalam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ganesh, R. INC Won
Vinoth AIADMK 57329
Raman BJP 5818
King Narcissus, K. DMDK 3111
None of the Above None of the Above 2912
Balraj, M. PMK 781
Jagan, R. Naam Tamilar Katchi 748
Subramani, N. Gandhiya Makkal Iyakkam 554
Jalal Ali, S. IDMMK 427
Manogaran, B. IND 388
Venugopal, D. IND 340

Electoral History and Background

In 2011 assembly elections Budhichandhiran of AIADMK party won the constituency defeating the Indian National Congress. The defeated candidate from Indian National Congress was Ganesh.R. The winner won with 61605 votes.

Udhagamandalam or Ooty is a town and municipality. It is a popular hill station located in Nilgiri hills. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily tea estate workers, cottage industry labourers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.